Reviews

If you wish to add a comment click here.
Rate                                        

By submitting this form you agree to our terms of use and to our Privacy protection policy
code
* Required fields

10
Deb C
Oct 2012
Newcastle upon Tyne United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Ταξίδι στο παρελθόν στο Golden Days
Γυρίσαμε στο Golden Days για να γιορτάσουμε την 5η μας επέτειο. Παντρευτήκαμε στο σπα της Καλλιθέας, η δεξίωση του γάμου μας έγινε στη βεράντα, όπως και το γαμήλιο πάρτυ. Δε θα γράψω κριτική για εκείνο το ταξίδι, γιατί μάλλον θέλω να το ξεχάσω, εξαιτίας του τότε ιδιοκτήτη του ξενοδοχείου. Όταν διάβασα στο TripAdvisor ότι ανέλαβε ο Γιάννης, αποφασίσαμε να πάρουμε το φέρι από το Μαρμάρι και να έρθουμε για λίγες μέρες, να συναντήσουμε παλιούς φίλους. Ήταν μάλλον η καλύτερη ιδέα, που είχαμε τα τελευταία χρόνια. Όλα ήταν όπως τ' αφήσαμε. Ο Γιάννης και η Μαρία κάνουν καταπληκτική δουλειά και το ξενοδοχείο είναι καθαρό και φιλόξενο, όπως πάντα. Πιστεύω ότι από εδώ και πέρα θα χωρίζουμε τις διακοπές μας στη μέση και θα περνάμε τις μισές στο Μαρμάρι και τις υπόλοιπες στα Αφάντου, που, παρ' όλες τις αλλαγές, εξακολουθούν να είναι η πεμπτουσία του ελληνικού χωριού. Η φιλοσοφία του είναι να καλοδέχεται τον επισκέπτη με ανοιχτές αγκάλες κι όσο καιρό είσαι εκεί,ζεις σαν Έλληνας. Σας ευχαριστούμε όλους, που δε μας ξεχάσατε, μας καλωσορίσατε όπως πάντα κι αφήσατε τις κακές στιγμές να ξεχαστούν. Ελπίζουμε να σας δούμε όλους του χρόνου.…

tripadvisor
10
Mike V
Aug 2018
Thessaloniki Greece   Greece
Ήταν τέλεια
Μείναμε στο ξενοδοχείο 6 μέρες. Οι υπηρεσίες είναι πολύ ικανοποιητικες για ξενοδοχείο δύο αστεριών. Το προσωπικό είναι εξυπηρετικό, πολύ φιλόξενο αλλά και φιλικό. Σίγουρα θα ξανα πάμε και του χρόνου..

tripadvisor
10
Lauren M
Sep 2016
Belfast United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Amazing!
Me and my boyfriend arrived here with no expectations - we just wanted a cheap holiday in the sun. The hotel, while basic, is brilliant craic. Yiannis, Maki and Jimmy are always on hand and can't do enough for you. We were so sad to leave.

tripadvisor
10
Louise M
May 2017
Armagh United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Love it here
Having been and stayed in golden days twice before I am returning in July with my wee girl, as said in other reviews the rooms are basic as you get what you pay for but they are clean and tidy. Maria and Yannis are lovely people who can't do enough for you, as are all of the Greek people I had the pleasure of meeting. We stayed two weeks each time we went and have never witnessed what others have said in other reviews about the hotel, or the people working their. Honestly could not fault golden days at all and can't wait to return. Much love from Ireland xxx

tripadvisor
10
Clare H
Jun 2017
Hungary   Hungary
Holiday
First time in Rhodes.hotel was basic but very clean every day lady came in to clean the rooms.staff are very friendly and helpful I certainly would recommend this hotel it's so quiet maybe holiday season might be different.

tripadvisor
10
Paula H
Jun 2017
Manchester United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Relaxing week
Myself and my husband have just returned from a week at this hotel/apartment and although the rooms are dated with self catering facilities which consist of a sink, fridge and 2 rings which you couldn't really cook on the rooms are very clean and we found the beds very comfortable. The beds were made and fresh linen and towels supplied most days. The complex is small but has a nice pool and garden area which is also kept clean and looked after. The restaurant area is well set out and the staff George, Zac and the owner Yannis are really lovely and helpful. There was another waiter however I don't know his name but he was always polite and a fast service. The chef is Dimitri and his food is amazing. You can walk into the village for food, however, I would not bother as the food…

tripadvisor
10
Theshirecaza
Sep 2016
The Shire United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Excellent
Firstly what did you pay? We were pleased with the hotel. The staff were nice and friendly and attentive and worked hard on very hot days. The hotel is 700 metres from a pebble beech which is well worth the walk - slightly up hill on return. Or you can catch a the fun train to beach and get it later in for the return. The breakfast is very good, we didn't eat here during the evening so not sure on other dishes. The room was well furnished with a small SC kitchen but we don't SC. but you could cook a basic meal. The balcony is a good size and private. We looked on to the pool which was nice as it has early morning sun then shade which is cooler for the room. There is a main road outside which does get noisy. But if the patio doors are shut this is not a problem. Afandou is a…

tripadvisor
10
cjmagee
Sep 2016
Liverpool United Kingdom   United Kingdom
A great base to explore Afandou and Rhodes
A last minute booking for a summer holiday. The Golden Days is a bit of a gem- it's a two star hotel but the service is five star. The hotel is situated at the top of Afandou's main road and is a lovely 25 minute walk from the beach. The rooms are simple- clean and functional (with aircon available at a reasonable price)- with a small shower/bathroom. Our room had a balcony with a view of the supermarket but still was great value for money.The hotel has a small pool and an outside terrace that acts as a bar/restaurant. You can see all this from the pictures on Tripadvisor but what the pictures can't show you is the friendliness and service from Ioannis and his team- they work incredibly hard and nothing is too much trouble; something that many better starred hotels could learn…

tripadvisor
10
Pea P
Sep 2016
United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Great village. Great people.
Been to this hotel about a dozen times over the years.not a bad word to say about the place.the staff are hard working and will help with any problems that you have..2 star hotel and still some people have complaints about the place..you get what you pay for at the end of the day..been going to Afandou since 1994 love the village and the people..if you want night life,English bars,Sunday dinners,and x factor this is not the place for you.

tripadvisor
8
David H
17.07.2019
Glasgow United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Low cost, nice pool, good location, a bit noisy
Stayed 5 nights at the Golden Days Hotel as part of a island hopping trip around the Greek islands.

Pros: Low cost, clean rooms; nice pool and never struggled for a sunbed; friendly staff; 10min walk to Afandou Kentro bus stop for exploring Rhodes Town and Lindos (Afandou is central between both)

Cons: Noisy even after music stops at midnight (needed ear plugs for sleeping); air con €5 extra per night; cannot take any food or drink, including water, bought outside the hotel to the pool area

If you can live with the cons for me it was good value for money

tripadvisor
10
Mark S
08.08.2017
Plymouth United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Like coming home, but warm :-)
Wow, what can I really say about this hotel.
Yes it's cheap, (Big tick in the box)
Yes it's cheerful, (Even bigger tick in the box)
Yes it fulfils everything you could possibly want on a Greek holiday, (Which is all you really want from a hotel)
Yiannis and Maria are the most accommodating hosts, attentive and take care of anything you may need.
I've been here many times over the years and truly enjoy myself every time we go.
I look forward to many more trips to visit my friends at the Golden Days hotel

tripadvisor
9
Vhkaged
28.05.2018
Rosyth United Kingdom   United Kingdom
3 weeks with the Owners now running it
My partner and I spent 3 weeks here with the owners Taking over running the hotel. From start to finish it was amazing. The hotel is what you’d expect for the price but it’s clean, tidy and a lot of effort being put into modernising it. We have stayed here a few times but with Kiriakos, Koula, Stefanos and Michalis we felt right at home. Can’t fault them for making us welcome.

Yes the hotel is needing a refurb but it is being done bit by bit.

Some guests mainly from Israel and Russia didn’t quite get the fact that you need to pay for things like air con etc and were more of a nuisance and rude, but it’s cheaper than a lot of hotels on the island and not only that but the cost of staying there is also low priced.

Will be back for sure.

tripadvisor
9
Trj
28.06.2018
Lancaster United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Not disappointed!
We have been visiting Afandou for 18 years and Golden Days for around 14 years.
The 'new' owners, Koula and Kiriagos, made us feel extremely welcome.
They are making improvements daily - there are now safes in the room - such an improvement from the 'trays' in the reception area.
The rooms and hotel were spotless and the cleaning ladies did a great job.

It is a 2 star hotel, so the rooms are basic but you know this when you book. We felt that the service and cleanliness this year was the best we had experienced in recent years there and this was down to the new 'team'.

We will return!

ps - fyi there is a new tourist tax of 50 cents per night

tripadvisor
8
David
28.08.2019
United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Location
Low cost, good location for bus trips to rhodes town and Lindos, nice pool areas

booking
9
Helle
28.08.2019
Denmark   Denmark
Dejligt
Dejligt som altid derfor kommer jeg altid tibage

booking