Reviews - Golden Days Hotel

If you wish to add a comment click here.
Rate                                        

By submitting this form you agree to our terms of use and to our Privacy protection policy
* Required fields

10
Deb C
Oct 2012
Newcastle upon Tyne United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Ταξίδι στο παρελθόν στο Golden Days
Γυρίσαμε στο Golden Days για να γιορτάσουμε την 5η μας επέτειο. Παντρευτήκαμε στο σπα της Καλλιθέας, η δεξίωση του γάμου μας έγινε στη βεράντα, όπως και το γαμήλιο πάρτυ. Δε θα γράψω κριτική για εκείνο το ταξίδι, γιατί μάλλον θέλω να το ξεχάσω, εξαιτίας του τότε ιδιοκτήτη του ξενοδοχείου. Όταν διάβασα στο TripAdvisor ότι ανέλαβε ο Γιάννης, αποφασίσαμε να πάρουμε το φέρι από το Μαρμάρι και να έρθουμε για λίγες μέρες, να συναντήσουμε παλιούς φίλους. Ήταν μάλλον η καλύτερη ιδέα, που είχαμε τα τελευταία χρόνια. Όλα ήταν όπως τ' αφήσαμε. Ο Γιάννης και η Μαρία κάνουν καταπληκτική δουλειά και το ξενοδοχείο είναι καθαρό και φιλόξενο, όπως πάντα. Πιστεύω ότι από εδώ και πέρα θα χωρίζουμε τις διακοπές μας στη μέση και θα περνάμε τις μισές στο Μαρμάρι και τις υπόλοιπες στα Αφάντου, που, παρ' όλες τις αλλαγές, εξακολουθούν να είναι η πεμπτουσία του ελληνικού χωριού. Η φιλοσοφία του είναι να καλοδέχεται τον επισκέπτη με ανοιχτές αγκάλες κι όσο καιρό είσαι εκεί,ζεις σαν Έλληνας. Σας ευχαριστούμε όλους, που δε μας ξεχάσατε, μας καλωσορίσατε όπως πάντα κι αφήσατε τις κακές στιγμές να ξεχαστούν. Ελπίζουμε να σας δούμε όλους του χρόνου.…

tripadvisor
10
Mike V
Aug 2018
Thessaloniki Greece   Greece
Ήταν τέλεια
Μείναμε στο ξενοδοχείο 6 μέρες. Οι υπηρεσίες είναι πολύ ικανοποιητικες για ξενοδοχείο δύο αστεριών. Το προσωπικό είναι εξυπηρετικό, πολύ φιλόξενο αλλά και φιλικό. Σίγουρα θα ξανα πάμε και του χρόνου..

tripadvisor
10
Lauren M
Sep 2016
Belfast United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Amazing!
Me and my boyfriend arrived here with no expectations - we just wanted a cheap holiday in the sun. The hotel, while basic, is brilliant craic. Yiannis, Maki and Jimmy are always on hand and can't do enough for you. We were so sad to leave.

tripadvisor
10
Louise M
May 2017
Armagh United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Love it here
Having been and stayed in golden days twice before I am returning in July with my wee girl, as said in other reviews the rooms are basic as you get what you pay for but they are clean and tidy. Maria and Yannis are lovely people who can't do enough for you, as are all of the Greek people I had the pleasure of meeting. We stayed two weeks each time we went and have never witnessed what others have said in other reviews about the hotel, or the people working their. Honestly could not fault golden days at all and can't wait to return. Much love from Ireland xxx

tripadvisor
10
Woody E
Jun 2017
Germany   Germany
Very enjoyable holiday
Have recently had a holiday with family members at this hotel. Rooms were basic as you'd expect with a 2 star hotel but were cleaned every day with fresh towels. Manager and his staff were great and made sure we had a fantastic time whilst there. We had a number of meals at the hotel which were all cooked well and highly enjoyable. In my opinion it was a 2 star hotel with a 5 star service by the staff. We met a number of people who stay regular at the hotel and they had nothing but praise for the place and after 2 weeks there i can see why. A karaoke night was put on which was fun, got off to a slow start but after a few drinks really got going. I'm naturally a shy person but managed to get up and do a couple of performances and loved it, nellie the elephant was mentioned a few…

tripadvisor
10
Clare H
Jun 2017
Hungary   Hungary
Holiday
First time in Rhodes.hotel was basic but very clean every day lady came in to clean the rooms.staff are very friendly and helpful I certainly would recommend this hotel it's so quiet maybe holiday season might be different.

tripadvisor
10
Paula H
Jun 2017
Manchester United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Relaxing week
Myself and my husband have just returned from a week at this hotel/apartment and although the rooms are dated with self catering facilities which consist of a sink, fridge and 2 rings which you couldn't really cook on the rooms are very clean and we found the beds very comfortable. The beds were made and fresh linen and towels supplied most days. The complex is small but has a nice pool and garden area which is also kept clean and looked after. The restaurant area is well set out and the staff George, Zac and the owner Yannis are really lovely and helpful. There was another waiter however I don't know his name but he was always polite and a fast service. The chef is Dimitri and his food is amazing. You can walk into the village for food, however, I would not bother as the food…

tripadvisor
10
Theshirecaza
Sep 2016
The Shire United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Excellent
Firstly what did you pay? We were pleased with the hotel. The staff were nice and friendly and attentive and worked hard on very hot days. The hotel is 700 metres from a pebble beech which is well worth the walk - slightly up hill on return. Or you can catch a the fun train to beach and get it later in for the return. The breakfast is very good, we didn't eat here during the evening so not sure on other dishes. The room was well furnished with a small SC kitchen but we don't SC. but you could cook a basic meal. The balcony is a good size and private. We looked on to the pool which was nice as it has early morning sun then shade which is cooler for the room. There is a main road outside which does get noisy. But if the patio doors are shut this is not a problem. Afandou is a…

tripadvisor
10
annettef895
Sep 2016
Edenbridge United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Afandou
Arrived here 31/8/16 for 2 weeks never stayed in 2 star accommodation before here just wanted somewhere to stay while visiting relatives staff very helpful can't do enough for you room very large with hot fast shower room had fridge kettle/ single beds and loads of storage space only down side no washing line/airer to put towels and swim wear doesn't look very nice using the balcony pole to hand washing lowers the tone of the place.

tripadvisor
10
cjmagee
Sep 2016
Liverpool United Kingdom   United Kingdom
A great base to explore Afandou and Rhodes
A last minute booking for a summer holiday. The Golden Days is a bit of a gem- it's a two star hotel but the service is five star. The hotel is situated at the top of Afandou's main road and is a lovely 25 minute walk from the beach. The rooms are simple- clean and functional (with aircon available at a reasonable price)- with a small shower/bathroom. Our room had a balcony with a view of the supermarket but still was great value for money.The hotel has a small pool and an outside terrace that acts as a bar/restaurant. You can see all this from the pictures on Tripadvisor but what the pictures can't show you is the friendliness and service from Ioannis and his team- they work incredibly hard and nothing is too much trouble; something that many better starred hotels could learn…

tripadvisor
10
Pea P
Sep 2016
United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Great village. Great people.
Been to this hotel about a dozen times over the years.not a bad word to say about the place.the staff are hard working and will help with any problems that you have..2 star hotel and still some people have complaints about the place..you get what you pay for at the end of the day..been going to Afandou since 1994 love the village and the people..if you want night life,English bars,Sunday dinners,and x factor this is not the place for you.

tripadvisor
10
toast3524
Sep 2016
Great Yarmouth United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Afantou Golden Days
Just took a week away and booked at Golden Days. Had a really enjoyable relaxing week at the hotel. Staff, Yanni, Maria, Jim and Makis were very attentive, the hotel was clean and the food was good. If I ever return to stay at Afantou I will stay at Golden Days.

tripadvisor
8
David H
17.07.2019
Glasgow United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Low cost, nice pool, good location, a bit noisy
Stayed 5 nights at the Golden Days Hotel as part of a island hopping trip around the Greek islands.

Pros: Low cost, clean rooms; nice pool and never struggled for a sunbed; friendly staff; 10min walk to Afandou Kentro bus stop for exploring Rhodes Town and Lindos (Afandou is central between both)

Cons: Noisy even after music stops at midnight (needed ear plugs for sleeping); air con €5 extra per night; cannot take any food or drink, including water, bought outside the hotel to the pool area

If you can live with the cons for me it was good value for money

tripadvisor
8
Dolly
06.08.2019
Saltash United Kingdom   United Kingdom
As expected
The good- nice looking bar and reception area, excellent clean pool, proximity to big air-conditioned supermarket, storage space in bedrooms was ample, rooms are clean and maid comes everyday if you want.
The bad- hard sunbeds, not adjustable, self-catering facilities poor although we only get it for fridge. Air-conditioning in our room was hardly working although the A/c in the kids room was fine. Staff are adequate but not particularly helpful when I asked about bus information.
The ugly- not much really although there are loads of quite unnecessary notices about charges incurred for staining towels etc. A bit off-putting.

tripadvisor
10
Mark S
08.08.2017
Plymouth United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Like coming home, but warm :-)
Wow, what can I really say about this hotel.
Yes it's cheap, (Big tick in the box)
Yes it's cheerful, (Even bigger tick in the box)
Yes it fulfils everything you could possibly want on a Greek holiday, (Which is all you really want from a hotel)
Yiannis and Maria are the most accommodating hosts, attentive and take care of anything you may need.
I've been here many times over the years and truly enjoy myself every time we go.
I look forward to many more trips to visit my friends at the Golden Days hotel

tripadvisor
9
Vhkaged
28.05.2018
Rosyth United Kingdom   United Kingdom
3 weeks with the Owners now running it
My partner and I spent 3 weeks here with the owners Taking over running the hotel. From start to finish it was amazing. The hotel is what you’d expect for the price but it’s clean, tidy and a lot of effort being put into modernising it. We have stayed here a few times but with Kiriakos, Koula, Stefanos and Michalis we felt right at home. Can’t fault them for making us welcome.

Yes the hotel is needing a refurb but it is being done bit by bit.

Some guests mainly from Israel and Russia didn’t quite get the fact that you need to pay for things like air con etc and were more of a nuisance and rude, but it’s cheaper than a lot of hotels on the island and not only that but the cost of staying there is also low priced.

Will be back for sure.

tripadvisor
10
Gemma H
28.06.2018
Edimburg United Kingdom   United Kingdom
A special gem!
Have been visiting this hotel for passed 5 years but Afandou for 19 years (on and off). This year the owners have stopped renting out and running it themselves.

The entire family and staff are welcoming, friendly, funny and all round great people.

Its basic but what more do you need? I don't go on holiday to spend it in the room - it's exactly what I need: clean and somewhere to put my head at night.

Great snack menu to help those lazy pool days!

Can't wait to come back next year!

tripadvisor
9
Trj
28.06.2018
Lancaster United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Not disappointed!
We have been visiting Afandou for 18 years and Golden Days for around 14 years.
The 'new' owners, Koula and Kiriagos, made us feel extremely welcome.
They are making improvements daily - there are now safes in the room - such an improvement from the 'trays' in the reception area.
The rooms and hotel were spotless and the cleaning ladies did a great job.

It is a 2 star hotel, so the rooms are basic but you know this when you book. We felt that the service and cleanliness this year was the best we had experienced in recent years there and this was down to the new 'team'.

We will return!

ps - fyi there is a new tourist tax of 50 cents per night

tripadvisor
10
Jayne And Richard
28.08.2019
United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Second Visit will return
I have just returned from 2 week stay with my partner. We stayed here 4 years ago, my partner came to area 2 years ago and visited here often.
When we arrived we was disappointed to know that the previous management had left but soon got to know the lovely family running it.
Rooms basic but cleaned every day. A/C a must at 5 euro a day, well worth it. Drinks cheap and not measured!!
Pool area clean and tidy. No need to get up at silly o clock for a lounger. Chilled and relaxed holiday.
We were invited to a meal with the family of hotel on our last night and had authentic Greek cuisine.
It seems to be a family orientated hotel.

Stephos was friendly and poured my partner great drinks and made some interesting cocktails, we truly felt at home there.

Lots of people complained while we were there but for the money it really can’t be faulted.

Not much entertainment, but the owners are just working out what people want. Had a great BBQ night for 10 Euro each which was superb.

Lazy cafe next door does amazing coffee for 2 Euro.
Four seasons restaurant does great food and even better service. Meals are huge if you get the smallest pizza 2 adults will easily be full.

All in all 2 * rated hotel but with everything considered we give 5*. Already looking to return September.

tripadvisor
10
Deanembley
28.08.2019
United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Fantastic little hotel.... with an amazing FAMILY to match!! We arrived knowing no one and left as f
Considering we arrived at 4am in the morning, we were welcomed very warmly and showed to our room by michalis, who is there every night, through the night a real gentleman. and a great pianist too!!

Are room was perfect for our stay and very clean this was all due to the hard work of Johanna and her team who made our rooms new everyday!!!

Koula and Kyriogos are the hosts of this great little hotel... They were extremely friendly and always have a smile and willing to help at any moment, even to the point when I chose to be very awkward and order a breakfast that wasn't on the menu... where they directed me to the kitchen to put on my chef whites and help Auntie with a breakfast dish she was unsure of.... a totally fun morning !! So please request the COSTAS DEANOS EGGS!! lol

We spent most nights at the hotel, more importantly with the family who welcomed us to there table every night, where we just laughed every evening with MAMA..... "Offer her a Cornetto and she's your Greek language teacher for the holiday"... However we did try and teacher her some Cockney English which was absolutely hilarious.. she's such a fun, loving character. Watch out for PAPA too, as he'll have you BBQ-ing with the brother in-law.... "Watch out for the brother he's a little grumpy but so but hilarious with it".

Stefanos and pandalis our the barmen with skills.... keep an eye on them as there handy with the shots... you may wake a few mornings hungover... you now know why. LOL
Also you got to checkout Stefanos;s little Greek feet he'll have you up down sideways and nearly on the floor with his Greek dancing.... He's a top MUCCA and you'll be ZORBA-ING your way through your holiday.

If I can describe this hotel in a word.... It would be FAMILY!!!!

A great holiday and some great memories made this June.... Cant wait to return!!

tripadvisor
9
Mike P
28.08.2019
United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Super friendly hotel! With amazing staff and ok facilities
This is a lovely hotel, which I would happily visit again, the staff and amazing and made us feel so at home, It has a great family-friendly pool and everyone has a share and share alike attitude so you can leave your inflatables for others and know it’s ok to use theirs which is really great!
Free WiFi although not advertised so not sure it a usual thing!
It’s basic but then it’s also quite cheap so for the price I think it’s a bargain!
100% recommended

tripadvisor
9
Ianscotland
28.07.2019
United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Friendly Family Run Hotel
Have just returned from a 2 week holiday as part of a large group who all enjoyed the experience. It is true that some of the facilities in the rooms are a bit dated/limited but they are kept clean and the owners are in the process of making improvements. There are now safe deposit boxes and televisions in the rooms and free WiFi. A/c available for a charge. All in all good value accommodation.

The pool area and gardens are well maintained and even with our large crowd there seemed to be space for everyone!

The owners Koula and Kyriakos and the rest of family and staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the atmosphere relaxing.

The hotel itself is next door to a large supermarket and a short walk to bars, cafes and restaurants. Also a 20 minute walk to Afandou beach. If you rent a car Rhodes Town, Lindos, Faliraki and Tsambika beach all within easy reach and public buses also available from Afandou. Afandou is perhaps not for everyone - it is a working Greek village that also caters for tourists rather than a typical tourist resort so you will experience real Greek life with friendly locals.

So all in all if you have reasonable expectations from a 2 star hotel and prepared to make the most of what Afandou has to offer it’s a great place to stay.

tripadvisor
8
David
28.08.2019
United Kingdom   United Kingdom
Location
Low cost, good location for bus trips to rhodes town and Lindos, nice pool areas

booking
9
Helle
28.08.2019
Denmark   Denmark
Dejligt
Dejligt som altid derfor kommer jeg altid tibage

booking